ESL reading circle

ESL reading circle

Please note: due to COVID-19 restrictions and shutdowns, classes are being held online until further notice. Please get in touch with the coordinator on 0405 292 074 who will let you know how to join.

Is English your second language? Want to practise your reading skills? You are welcome to join us for a fun, informal reading club

Community members who live in the Town but don't speak English as their first language are at risk of social isolation. The solution? Our English as a second language reading circle.

Launched in 2019 and held online for now (usually at the Victoria Park Library), community members meet to improve their language skills, learn about Australian history and culture, and make lifelong connections with other attendees.

Watch the video to watch the ESL's social impact story.

  

The details 

The reading circle meets on Wednesday evenings during school term time for eight weeks. The first ESL reading circle meeting of 2020 takes place 12 February, 6pm.

Get involved 

Would you or someone you know like to join the Town of Victoria Park English as a second language reading circle? To book please text YES to 0405 292 074. 

For more information please call the library on (08) 9373 5500.

When

  • Wednesday, 12 February 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 19 February 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 26 February 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 04 March 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 11 March 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 18 March 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 25 March 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 01 April 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 08 April 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 15 April 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 22 April 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 29 April 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 06 May 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 13 May 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 20 May 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 27 May 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 03 June 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 10 June 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 17 June 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 24 June 2020 | 06:00 PM - 07:00 PM

Location

Victoria Park Library, 27 Sussex Street, East Victoria Park 6101  View Map

Google Map