Call for nominations

13 September 2019, 12:00 PM



Town of Victoria Park

An Ordinary Postal Election will be held on Saturday, 19 October 2019 in the Town of Victoria Park to fill the following vacancies:

  One Mayor Four year term
Banksia Ward Two Councillors Four year term
Jarrah Ward Two Councillors Four year term


Nominations open on Thursday, 5 September 2019

Nominations close at 4pm on Thursday, 12 September 2019

Nominations must be lodged with the returning officer:

  • at any time during the above period by arrangement; or
  • between 2pm and 4pm Thursday 12 September 2019 (close of nominations) at the Town of Victoria Park, 99 Shepperton Road, Victoria Park.

Nominations requirements

Candidates are required to lodge with the Returning Officer:

  • a completed nomination in the prescribed form, signed and witnessed. (This form is available from the Returning Officer, the Western Australian Electoral Commission or the Town of Victoria Park;
  • a single A4 page profile containing not more than 150 words of information about the candidate;
  • a nomination deposit of $80 (cash, bank cheque or postal order); and
  • a recent passport-sized photograph (optional)
  • every candidate must complete the online candidate induction module available at

The Commission has developed an online system called Nomination Builder to assist candidates to complete their nomination form which includes the candidate profile. This is the preferred method of completing the nomination form and profile for elections conducted by the Commission. Candidates complete their nomination details and profile, print the completed form which has a reference number allocated and lodge it with the Returning Officer. Nomination Builder can be accessed at

Where an agent lodges a nomination on a candidate’s behalf, it must be in the prescribed form with a written authorisation signed by the candidate.

The documents may be hand delivered, posted or faxed to the Returning Officer and must be received by the close of nominations.


Full details about eligibility and nomination procedures for prospective candidates can be obtained by contacting the Returning Officer on 0467 801 731 or the Western Australian Electoral Commission on 13 63 06.

Leonie Veitch
Returning Officer